This semester I ventured on an elective course called “Apreciación de la música” because I have played many instruments since I was 6 including the piano, clarinet, saxophone, drums, and guitar. Even though I study mechanical engineering I have many other interests and I would like to explore my possibilities and expand my horizons and I knew that this class would help me refocus what my plan would be since music has been such a big part of my life.

The professor is Dr. José A. López, and he is a professional guitar player who has played worldwide. The first day of class he gives an overview on what to expect during the semester and explains the way that he gives his class and what he expects from us. The opening piece that he uses is “Ausencia” by Astor Piazzolla. I believe that this is the best piece ever to open the class with because it is truly hypnotizing and it appeals to anyone, it’s not a boring classical piece, and it intrigues the students to find out more about the composer and about everything music related. I think that the professor chooses this piece because it’s like opening the eyes of the students to something that is truly beautiful and has substance. Because most of the students that take this class, including me, go into it knowing little or nothing about classical music and about the different periods in the development of music and what not.

I can recommend this class to anyone because it helps people develop a different and higher level of education and culture. Not only that, the professor helps people develop a different point of view on the system of the government and he challenges the norm in a very liberal way. So if you can, take this class 🙂

Here is the link to a video of Ausencia… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Em-1gopj_Pg